FOLLOW US FacebookTwitter

BCPP Pharmacists Award Winners

At CDHN we were delighted by the successes of so many of the Pharmacists who have been involved with BCPP.  At both the Pharmacy in Focus Awards and NI Healthcare Awards we nominated our Pharmacists for all the excellent work that they do in their BCPP projects and we delighted to see so many of them named as finalists.

At the Pharmacy in Focus Awards, Sheelin McKeagney was presented with the special accolade of Outstanding Contribution to Pharmacy.  Sheelin has not only taken part in BCPP projects but also is a member of the BCPP steering group and CDHN board.  Regarding his award he said, “To be honest I’m completely flabbergasted by this. I certainly wasn’t expecting to hear my name called and am extremely proud and pleased.”

Pharmacist Rebecca Adair from Medicare won the Health Promotion Pharmacist of the Year award for her BCPP project with Brain Injury Matters. 

The Community Pharmacy Service Initiative was won by Bronagh Ward from Castle Healthcare for her work with the Short Strand Association working with older people on issues such as isolation and mental health.

At the NI Healthcare Awards, all the finalists in the NI Community Pharmacy Practice of the Year category had been involved with BCPP.  We would like to extend our congratulations to Gemma and all the staff at McCartan’s Pharmacy for winning the award and to Killian Johnston from Sweeney’s Chemist as he was highly commended in this category.

Gemma was funded by BCPP and worked in partnership with Cara McShane from MAC NI to support local families and children with autism. Their BCPP project brought 10 young people with autism together, with their parents, for an interactive project. This proved an excellent way to tackle many of the issues facing young people with autism.

Congratulations to all the finalists and award winners!